2021-22 NHL Division, Award, and Playoff Predictions

Oct 10- 9 min read

Who doesn’t love some pre-season NHL predictions? Some are bold, some are chalk, but here are my predictions for the 2021-22 Division Standings, NHL Awards, and Stanley Cup Playoffs!

Use promo code NHL10 to receive a free $10 entry in a weekly OwnersBox NHL Salary Cap contest!

Atlantic Division Predicted Standings

  1. Florida Panthers
  2. Tampa Bay Lightning
  3. Toronto Maple Leafs
  4. Boston Bruins*
  5. Ottawa Senators
  6. Montreal Canadiens
  7. Detroit Red Wings
  8. Buffalo Sabres


Metropolitan Division Predicted Standings

  1. Carolina Hurricanes
  2. New York Islanders
  3. New York Rangers
  4. Philadelphia Flyers*
  5. Washington Capitals
  6. New Jersey Devils
  7. Pittsburgh Penguins
  8. Columbus Blue Jackets

Central Division Predicted Standings

  1. Colorado Avalanche
  2. Dallas Stars
  3. Winnipeg Jets
  4. Minnesota Wild*
  5. Chicago Blackhawks*
  6. St. Louis Blues
  7. Nashville Predators
  8. Arizona Coyotes

Pacific Division Predicted Standings

  1. Vegas Golden Knights
  2. Vancouver Canucks
  3. Edmonton Oilers
  4. Los Angeles Kings
  5. Seattle Kraken
  6. Calgary Flames
  7. Anaheim Ducks
  8. San Jose Sharks


Presidents Trophy

1st: Vegas Golden Knights
2nd: Colorado Avalanche
3rd: Carolina Hurricanes

  • Golden Knights’ weak division allows them to rack up points on route to a President’s Trophy


Hart Memorial Trophy: Most Valuable Player

Finalist: Connor McDavid
Finalist: Nathan MacKinnon
Finalist: Auston Matthews

Winner: Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

  • The clear most valuable player in the NHL wins another MVP award


Ted Lindsay Award: Most Outstanding Player

Finalist: Connor McDavid
Finalist: Nathan MacKinnon
Finalist: Leon Draisaitl

Winner: Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche

  • Nathan Mackinnon has a career-best season and is given the player’s MVP award


Norris Trophy: Best Defenseman in the NHL

Finalist: Dougie Hamilton
Finalist: Cale Makar
Finalist: Victor Hedman

Winner: Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning

  • A close race between these three all season, Hedman’s commitment to his own zone is the tie breaker for the Norris win.


Vezina Trophy: Best Goalie in the NHL

Finalist: Andrei Vasilevskiy
Finalist: Connor Hellebuyck
Finalist: Thatcher Demko

WinnerConnor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets

  • Demko a surprise finalist, but Hellebuyck grabs another Vezina for his mantel.


Art Ross Trophy: Most Points in the NHL

1st: Connor McDavid, 139
2nd: Nathan Mackinnon, 118
3rd: Leon Draisaitl, 117

  • McDavid wins the Art Ross by 20 points despite a great showing from MacKinnon


Rocket Richard Trophy: Most Goals in the NHL

1st: Auston Matthews, 60 Goals
2nd: Leon Draisaitl, 53 Goals
3rd: Nathan Mackinnon, 52 Goals
4th: Kirill Kaprizov/Kyle Connor 47 Goals

  • 60 goals from the best goal scorer in the NHL clinches a Rocket Richard Trophy for the Toronto superstar


Selke Trophy: Best Defensive Forward in the NHL

Finalist: Patrice Bergeron
Finalist: Alexsander Barkov
Finalist: Sean Couturier

Winner: Sean Couturier, Philadelphia Flyers

  • Consistently underrated on both sides of the puck, Couturier wins a Selke over perennial contenders Barkov and Bergeron


Lady Byng Trophy: Sportsmanship Award

Finalist: Anze Kopitar
Finalist: Ryan O’Reilly
Finalist: Alexsander Barkov

Winner: Alexsander Barkov, Florida Panthers

  • Barkov wins a second Lady Byng in a row with minimal penalty minutes and a 90 point season


William Jennings Trophy

Winner: Thatcher Demko & Jaroslav Halak

  • Halak supports Demko to a league minimum in goals allowed for the Canucks (somewhat concerned about Tyler Myers for this take)


Mark Messier Leadership Award

Finalist: Mark Stone, Vegas Golden Knights
Finalist: Blake Wheeler, Winnipeg Jets
Finalist: John Tavares, Toronto Maple Leafs

Winner: Blake Wheeler, Winnipeg Jets

  • Three great leaders, the winner is on team that outperforms expectations, and that’s Wheeler and the Jets


Jack Adams NHL Coach of the Year Award

Finalist: Dean Evason, Minnesota Wild
Finalist: Gerald Gallant, New York Rangers
Finalist: Peter DeBoer, Vegas Golden Knights

WinnerGerard Gallant, New York Rangers

  • Players-coach Gerard Gallant brings the Rangers to the playoffs and is rewarded with a Jack Adams


Jim Gregory NHL GM of the Year

Finalist: Steve Yzerman, Detroit Red Wings
Finalist: Bill Guerin, Minnesota Wild
Finalist: Bill Zito, Florida Panthers

Winner: Steve Yzerman, Detroit Red Wings

  • Stevie Y and the Yzerplan is given a GM of the Year award as voted on by the 32 general manager as they’re all scared to trade with him


Prince of Wales Trophy – Eastern Conference Champion

Runner Up: Florida Panthers
Winner: Carolina Hurricanes

  • Hurricanes win a Game 7 OT thriller over the Panthers to advance to the Stanley Cup final


Clarence Campbell Bowl – Western Conference Champion

Runner Up: Vegas Golden Knights
: Colorado Avalanche

  • Avalanche realize potential and topple Knights to reach the final


Stanley Cup Champion

Runner Up: Carolina Hurricanes
ChampionColorado Avalanche

  • Avalanche overpower the Hurricanes to clinch 3rd Stanley Cup in Franchise history, and first championship since 2001


Conn Smythe Trophy

WinnerNathan Mackinnon, Colorado Avalanche

  • Mackinnon racks up 30 playoff points to win the Conn Smythe over Kuemper and Aho


Hope you enjoyed this article; check out our 2021-22 fantasy hockey rankings!

Our weekly fantasy hockey contests are now live. Use Promo Code “NHL10” for a free $10 entry. (one-time use of code only) Our 7-day contests will be available to play everyday throughout the season.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
More from OwnersBox

OwnersBox is an innovative sports-tech company that is looking to disrupt the way consumers play Fantasy Sports.

Mar 22 3 min read

Lightning Lineups

Unlock the OwnersBox Promo Code to Get Bonus Lightning Lineup Entries!

Mar 10 7 min read

BetMGM Massachusetts promo

Get $1,000 First Bet Offer With the BetMGM Massachusetts Promo

Mar 10 7 min read

Massachusetts sports betting promo codes

Top Massachusetts Sports Betting Promo Codes Available For New Players

Mar 10 7 min read

Caesars Sportsbook Massachusetts promo code

Caesars Sportsbook Massachusetts Promo Code: Unlock $1,500 First Bet Offer

Mar 07 6 min read

BetMGM Massachusetts bonus

BetMGM Massachusetts Bonus: Get $200 When You Sign-Up Before Friday

Feb 10 8 min read

2022 Fantasy Football

Best Super Bowl 57 Prop Bets to Lock in for Chiefs vs Eagles

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Follow Us

[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: OwnersBox, 274 Shirley Ave, Kitchener, ON, N2B2E1, https://www.ownersbox.com/. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email.